DES Home
|
Division of Employment Security
North Carolina Department of Commerce
Special Messages
Important Alert: The Division of Employment Security has begun mailing letters to claimants who received their FIRST unemployment benefit payment on or after March 1, 2014. These letters will inform claimants of a mandatory in-person interview, known as an Employability Assessment Interview (EAI). For more information on these interviews, click here.

Important Information Concerning 1099s
DES has completed the mailing of all 1099s. 1099s are also available online here. You need this 1099 because your unemployment benefits are taxable and you should include the unemployment insurance payments you received on your federal and state tax filing form.

There is currently no extension of federal unemployment benefits available. We will update our website if something changes. At this time, the maximum number of weeks someone is eligible for unemployment benefits in North Carolina is 19.

Are you properly searching for work to remain eligible for unemployment benefits? Click here for more information.

You may file online or:
To file a new initial claim 7 days a week call: 1-877-841-9617
To file a weekly certification, odd number SSNs on Monday & Wednesday through Saturday, even number SSNs on Tuesday through Saturday, call: 1-888-372-3453
Claimants Business Workforce Sols. PIO LEAD Downloads FAQs Legal
Claim Services
Info. Services
Account Services
Claim Services
Tax Services
Account Services
Find Job
Find JobSeekers
NC Works
News Room
Publications
Rate Releases
Labor Market
Research
Economic Analysis
Forms
Posters
Software
About UI
About Tax
Hearings
ES Laws
DES Rules
Interpretations
Go to Emergency Unemployment Compensation (EUC) — Claimants Questions & Answers
Go to Unemployment Insurance Law Changes — Claimants Questions & Answers
Go to Unemployment Insurance Law Changes — Employers Questions & Answers


Emergency Unemployment Compensation (EUC) — Claimants Questions & Answers:

1. I’m currently receiving federal emergency unemployment benefits (EUC). Are my benefits ending?
Yes. The federal extension of benefits, better known as the Emergency Unemployment Compensation Program (EUC) will end in North Carolina on June 30, 2013. All four tiers of the EUC program will end on this date. The last EUC payment will be for the week of unemployment ending on June 29, 2013.


2. How do I know if I’m on regular unemployment or EUC?
If you started receiving unemployment benefits prior to January 1, 2013, you are likely affected. Since regular unemployment currently has a maximum of 26 weeks (6 months), you are likely already on EUC or will be prior to June 30, 2013 and will therefore lose benefits.


3. What assistance is there for me?
The Department of Commerce is prepared to support individuals losing federal emergency benefits with all the resources available. Local workforce offices are located around the state to provide individuals with the services and information they need to get back to work or gain access to the training they need. These offices provide the following services:

  • free computer and internet access
  • help with resume preparation
  • information on the job market
  • help searching for a job
  • career guidance and assessment
  • information on training and education programs
  • access to training classes, workshops, and resources for training
  • programs and information for veterans returning to the workforce
  • referrals to other state and local organizations that can help

For assistance in finding your local workforce office, go to http://www.nccommerce.com/workforce/job-seekers In addition, the N.C. Department of Commerce is actively working with state, local, and business partners to coordinate services and create opportunities for job seekers needing assistance. State partner agencies such as the N.C. Community College System, Division of Social Services, Division of Vocational Rehabilitation, and other state workforce programs have been provided information about the end of the federal emergency benefit program and are prepared to provide services to affected individuals. In addition, local workforce offices are working with services in their area to ensure that all organizations are working together to provide the best resources available to individuals losing federal emergency benefits.



Unemployment Insurance Law Changes — Claimants Questions & Answers:

1. I’m currently receiving regular, state-funded unemployment benefits. Will my weekly benefit amount (WBA) change on June 30, 2013?
No. The new law that changes the benefit amount does not take effect until June 30, 2013 and only those new claims filed on or after June 30, 2013 will be affected. No current unemployment claims supported by state funds will experience a reduction of an already established weekly benefit amount. However, new claims filed on or after June 30, 2013 will be subject to a maximum weekly benefit amount of $350.


2. If I’m currently receiving benefits, will my duration change on June 30, 2013?
No. Only those new claims filed on or after June 30, 2013 will be affected.


3. I’ve already served a one-week waiting period. If I go back to work for a period of time and get laid off again, will I have to serve another waiting week?
No. Claimants who filed prior to June 30, 2013 and established benefit years before that date will serve only one waiting week as required under current law. Effective June 30, 2013, each claimant will be required to serve a one-week waiting period for each new claim filed.


4. How much can I earn outside of my weekly benefit payment and still get my maximum weekly benefit amount?
Effective with claims filed on or after June 30, 2013, this calculation will be changed to 20 percent of the weekly benefit amount. For example, if you are designated to receive the maximum weekly benefit amount of $350, your earnings allowance will be $70 per week.


5. If I’m unemployed from a part-time job do I have to accept full-time work?
Yes. The new legislation, which takes effect June 30, 2013, eliminates the part-time suitable work exception. Part-time work may still be suitable work under the new law if it meets the criteria for suitable work. Under current law, if an individual is unemployed from a part-time job, the individual may not be required to accept full-time employment.


6. What is considered suitable work?
The determination of whether an employment offer is suitable will vary based upon the individual’s length of unemployment. After the 10th week of a benefit period, any employment offer paying 120 percent of the individual’s weekly benefit amount will be considered suitable work. For weeks 1 through 10 of the benefit period, virtually all of the current criteria for suitable work will be applied. Also, the individual must now be willing to accept full-time employment, beginning week 1, even though the individual customarily works part-time.


7. If I’m attending school, does that offset receipt of severance pay?
No. It will be treated in the same manner as other separation pay. The new law does not provide for the waiver of severance pay due to the claimant’s school attendance.


8. How does the new law affect attached claims my employer may file for me?
For all attached claims filed on or after June 30, 2013, an employer may only file one attached claim per employee during the employee’s benefit year. This attached claim is limited to a maximum duration of six weeks. If an employee has a weekly benefit amount established prior to June 30, 2013, that weekly benefit amount will not change even though all the other provisions of the new attached claim law will apply. If there is no established weekly benefit amount, one will be computed using the new law’s calculations. A one-week waiting period must be served for any attached claim filed on or after June 30, 2013.



Unemployment Insurance Law Changes — Employers Questions & Answers:

1. How will attached claims be handled?
An employer may file an attached claim only if the employer has a positive balance in its Unemployment Insurance account. If an employer does not have a positive balance, it must pay the Division an amount equal to the amount necessary to bring the employer’s negative balance to at least zero. Once this has been accomplished, there are other restrictions the employer must adhere to:

  • An employer may file an attached claim for an employee only once per year, and
  • The period of partial unemployment for which the claim is filed may not exceed six weeks, and
  • The employer must also pay the Division an amount equal to the full cost of unemployment benefits payable to the employee under the attached claim at the time the attached claim is filed.

2. How will the new law changes affect how I report wages to the Division of Employment Services each quarter?
For Unemployment Insurance purposes, wages will continue to be reported quarterly. The state’s UI taxable wage base is $20,900 for 2013.


3. How will the new law affect how I pay taxes to the Division of Employment Services each quarter?
Beginning with 3rd quarter 2013 thru 2nd quarter 2014, existing governmental and non-profit employers that choose the reimbursement method of financing benefits will be required to make payments equaling 1 percent of the taxable wages. Newly liable governmental and non-profit employers must pay tax at the rate of 1 percent of their quarterly taxable wages for the first four calendar quarters from their first date of employment. Payment should be remitted to the Division of Employment Services with an employer’s quarterly report.


4. How will I be charged for annual benefits?
Claims that are chargeable to your account will be charged the same as in previous years. Under the new law, governmental and non-profit employers must maintain a 1 percent balance in their accounts related to taxable wages. Claims that are charged will impact the balance in that account. In November of each year the Division of Employment Services will send each governmental and non-profit employer a statement to reconcile its account.


5. If I currently file a paper NCUI 101 each quarter to the Division of Employment Services, does the new law change my filing requirements?
Perhaps. The new law requires that all employers and their agents (payroll services and accountants) that report wages for at least 25 employees file the detailed wage information (name, social security number, and gross wages) in their quarterly reports in a format prescribed by DES. A penalty will be assessed for failure to comply.


6. I am an experience rated employer, how will the new law affect my unemployment insurance tax rate?
Tax rates will now be calculated by a statutory formula, which can be found in G.S. §96-9.2. The rates for 2014 range from 0.07 percent to 6.91 percent.


Additional Information:
A memorandum for employers with more information on these changes can be found on the DES website under Business Services or by clicking here.